TikTok now lets you reset your For You feed
TikTok is rolling out a new feature that lets users reset their For You feed. If you feel like your recommendations aren’t relevant anymore, you can use this feature to start afresh. It will delete everything the app has learned about your interests and content preferences and will retrain the algorithm based on new interactions. It’d be like you have just installed the app and opened it for the first time.
As you might expect, this reset will not affect your Following feed, profile information, and messages. TikTok will only reset the For You feed. Everything else will remain untouched. But once you reset your TikTok For You feed, you cannot undo the change. You must start afresh with popular videos on your feed, which may not be relevant. You’ll have to wait until the app learns enough about your interests and preferences to show relevant content. The more you interact, the more it will learn about you and improve recommendations.
Of course, you can reset the algorithm you want. The reset button is available in TikTok’s privacy settings. Go to the Content preferences section in the Settings and Privacy menu and tap on the new “Refresh your For You feed” button. Here, the app will tell you what will change after resetting the For You feed (everything we explained above). Tap on “Continue” if you wish to proceed. Confirm your choice by tapping on “Refresh” in the pop-up menu. That’s it. TikTok has reset recommendations for you and you cannot undo the change.
TikTok adds a reset button for recommended content
TikTok’s new “Refresh” button is different from the existing pull-down refresh option. The latter only refreshes the feed with new videos based on the current recommendation algorithm. It doesn’t reset the algorithm. Most social media apps offer such refresh buttons to pull up new content. TikTok’s reset feature is somewhat new in this space.
This feature will be of great help to those whose tastes have changed over time. If you loved cooking and eating videos in the past but are now focused on diet and fitness, a reset will help you move on.
Keep in mind that resetting won’t override any other content moderation settings you’ve already chosen on TikTok, like marking creators or audio tracks as “not interested”. The new feature should be available to everyone over the next few days. You can click on the button below to download the latest version of the TikTok app from the Google Play Store.